Despite the increased access to education, a significant number of people cannot read or write. What are the disadvantages and what action should the government take?

Education is widely accepted to be a fundamental resource. Indeed, in most countries, basic literacy is nowadays perceived not only as a right but also as a duty. While citizens are often required by law to attain education, there are still large portions that are illiterate. This is a major loss to the world which affects both individuals and societies. However, such a tough situation can be resolved by taking some measures from the government. Life will be much more perilous and make trouble for others if people cannot read or write. They can't protect themselves very well when they have an illness. For example, a patient unable to read medication instructions is in danger of an incorrect dosage, which can make allergies and complications. Illiterate who can't follow written safety instructions will also bring misfortune. For instance, a builder who has difficulty reading warning and hazard signs not only to affects himself but also takes its toll, the co-workers’ fingers might be clipped off by the machine. Even though, l still have strong confidence that the dilemma of illiterate can be changed if the government takes some constructive measures. Governments have an important role in remedying the fact that groups such as migrants and indigenous. Such minorities have had fewer opportunities to receive education compared with other groups in society. The language school should not only teaches oral speaking but also puts emphasis on their reading and writing skills. By adding some reading clubs which can share some ideas and write some comments. Furthermore, the language school's teachers need to have training in a variety of methods for teaching literacy. To summarize, people who are living in danger without any reading and writing skills. Nonetheless, these people also can get rid of hard situations and support themselves from the government's measures.