Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, while others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that in some companies, employers when interviewing individuals, are been asked about their private life such as if they are married or single, and their hobbies and interests. Many suggest that getting personal information would be useful in many companies, whilst others disagree with this point of view. Firstly, I will discuss why some companies and people believe that requiring such information would be helpful in the long run and, secondly, why others think that it is unnecessary to ask for such information on workers. To start with, when employing workers many companies ask for personal details for several reasons. This can be seen in partnerships, the more they get employee details the more it gets easy in case of emergencies. To illustrate, when an individual is suffering from social ill, the company can easily inform the family members by contacting them on their mobile phones. In addition, when being attacked with asthma others could easily help them with medication for the ill individual. On the other hand, others think that it is unnecessary to be providing personal information to companies because of various reasons. To give an example, some have been divorced which by they will not be comfortable sharing their relationship status. Others might have partners who are disabled, and the employee will be feeling out of place, thinking that some will judge their situation. In conclusion, personal details should be considered important in companies in case of emergencies on workers. In my opinion, I would agree that people who apply for work should give companies personal details for an urgent situations.