Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while other thing it is a waste of time discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Whether or not to each art at school has been a topic of discussion. It is thought by some people that art is a fundamental subject to teach children at school, others maintain that it is merely time wasting. This essay will discuss why teaching art can be important but why it should not be compulsory at all. To begin with, art can be described in various forms, and children can explore and opt for a skill they like and further develop their passion. This can help them express themselves in different ways. For instance, when I was in school, I had to attend a music lesson as part of my curriculum, where I had plenty of options to choose an instrument of choice to play and learn. I started learning guitar that helped me become a professional guitarist. Therefore, learning art at school can be advantageous. Conversely, critics of this view state that learning art is time consuming and futile. They have reason to believe as not every child is keen on learning art. Moreover, some children are more passionate about other subjects such as computers or science. To illustrate, many of classmates wanted to be enrolled in more technological courses to learn the skills they were more interested in but had to study art and consequently they never excelled at either. As can be seen, having the options to choose and follow what children like is beneficial. To conclude, learn art at school as a mandatory subject has different opinions. While some people argue it should be compulsory, others are of the opinion it is just a waste of time. In my opinion, children are far better off having the options to choose rather than being compelled to study a particular subject.