Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

it is true that a myriad of students does not have the tendency of opting for science in universities these days due to its significant complication. personally, I hold the belief that this trend can exert certain adverse impacts on society. it is understandable for students not to choose science as their major because of its toughness. both scientific theories and experiments are challenging for youngsters, which require not only intelligence but also hard work and diligence. As a result, if they do not prepare painstakingly for this subject, they will fail the examination. for example, each year, a majority of students at Ha Noi University of Science and Technology fail their exams due to the excessive amount of technical knowledge. furthermore, science students are unable to take part in extracurricular activities or part-time jobs because of their hectic schedules. consequently, many youngsters enrol in other universities, which enables them to have enough time for other activities. I strongly believe that the negative influences of this tendency need to be taken into consideration. it is worth mentioning that the development of necessary industries depends heavily on scientific researchers. without a sufficient number of science students, there is a high possibility of lacking innovative breakthroughs that play an important role in all industries, especially the pharmaceutical field. people's well-being also can not be ensured without the advancement of technology. therefore, students need to be encouraged to major in science with a view to guaranteeing the quality of life. in conclusion, I am of the opinion that the main factor of this trend is the overwhelming burden of workload, which leads to undesirable effects on technology development. it is predicted that science will become a more popular subject thanks to people's high demands for technological devices.