Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor.

There are an increasing numbers of individuals who are taking alternative medicines and therapies without asking their usual doctor for help when they are suffering from health problems. In my opinion, although alternative medicines and treatments have some benefit, it is definitely a negative development. On the one hand, it is understandable, to some extent, that individuals decide to try alternative drugs and remedies because these approaches are convenient and cheap sometimes. For example, businessmen are always on their schedules so it is usually infeasible for them to apply for an appointment with doctors. In this way, alternative medicines could help them release their pains quickly. Moreover, with the decrease in income due to the bad economy, some people would feel hard to continue to pay for the doctor. Searching for alternative therapies is the only choice of them. However, these alternative medicines and treatments are absolutely unreliable and unhealthy that could never match to visiting a professional doctor. There are several disadvantages to this. Firstly, without scientific study and support, these methods might have a variety of unforeseen side effects so that patients who take them could feel better at the beginning but suffer a lot in the end. Furthermore, no one should underestimate doctors, only they can give you professional recommendations and treatments. It is easy for individuals to be misled by these alternative therapies which might aim to cure another different illness. As a result, the downsides of trying alternative medicines and remedies outweigh their advantages. In conclusion, there are several reasons why individuals are taking alternative drugs and therapies instead of seeing their usual doctor, but it is absolutely a negative development.