Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar; which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

As we all know, plenty of sugar can be found in all kinds of manufactured foods and beverages today. The ensuing potential health problems should not be trivialised. There is an argument that if we raise the price of sugary products, people will naturally buy less of them. I completely disagree with this view and believe that the focus of the solution to this problem should be on other areas. If sugary products cost more, it will not stop those who are truly addicted to these foods and drinks from consuming them. The companies that produce these products can even make more profit. Besides, this measure may have more of a counter-productive effect, as the price goes up, people may save the money that should be spent on healthy foods such as vegetables and fruits to buy snacks. Therefore, in my opinion, alternative methods should be considered to tackle this problem. On the side of manufacturers, they should control the use of sugar across the board and especially the amount of added sugar should be cut down. On the side of governments, instead of regulating the prices of products, a more necessary action would be to encourage people to have a healthier diet, getting sugar from natural foods rather than finely processed ones. In addition, subsidising health-conscious companies is a good way to combat this problem. When there are fewer products high in sugar in our markets, the possible health risks will automatically be avoided. In conclusion, in order to address the high consumption of sugary products and the host of related health problems that follow, I believe that simply raising prices is not going to work. Businesses and governments should take responsibility for addressing these issues at the root.