Some people say that the fast food industry has made a negative effect on health, the environment, and family eating habits. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons with relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is widely believed that the fast food industry has made a negative effect on health, the environment, and family eating habits. Personally, I can neither completely agree nor disagree with this statement for a variety of reasons. I partly agree that the fast food industry has made a negative effect on health, the environment, and family eating habits. One of the main reasons can be the negative effect on the cardiovascular and digestive systems, the release of packaging waste, and changes in family eating habits. This means that most fast food products are usually laden with carbohydrates and have very little fibre. Eating fast food products will create spikes in sugar intake and increase the risk of diabetes, and weight gain. Another reason can be that fast food restaurants use a lot of packaging. Wrappers, straws, boxes, bags and other fast food packaging count for approximately 40% of all litter with Styrofoam (which takes 900 years to break down). Besides, Families whose meals frequently consist of fast food are more likely to have unhealthy eating habits, poor access to healthy foods at home, and a higher risk for obesity. For example, last year, when I was a student at university, I ate fast food very much, so I was obese. On the other hand, I disagree with the viewpoint that the fast food industry has made a negative effect on health, the environment, and family eating habits. Firstly, fast food products make it easier to reduce hunger problems. This is because fast food items are one of the most affordable food products we can find in the world today. For example, we can spend 2 dollars to buy one food item. Secondly, people can purchase fast food to save time. For instance, when I eat fast food, I can spend peak time on a primary activity, sleeping and doing housework. In conclusion, although the fast food industry has made a negative effect on people, I’m convinced that it’s an inevitable trend in modern society.