Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, people have different views about the protection of minority languages. Although spending lots of money to save a language could be unnecessary, I personally believe that steps taken by the government to protect a language can play a crucial role to save its heritage. Initially, there are various reasons that make people argue to spend lots of money on saving a language. Firstly, the programme needed for schools and colleges to teach that language costs a lot. For example, the government will have to provide new buildings as well as skilled teachers -who understand that language - and requires paying extra salary for them to teach something unique. In addition, most citizens think that government expenditures should be for facilities such as public services instead of building unnecessary colleges. On the other hand, it is worth considering that if a city has not any special language this will lead to losing identity. To illustrate this point, a language even if it is spoken by a few people it is the most essential means of globalisation. Therefore, having folk with diverse languages is an excellent way to make an ethnic culture as well as remind the nation of their traditions and how they used to speak in the past and make this culture alive again. This will significantly lead to raising a knowledgeable generation as they know various languages. To conclude, despite the importance of spending money on residential issues and entertainment facilities, it is crucial to protect the culture of the country and save these minority languages from being disappeared.