Some people think that public health is the responsibility of the government, while others believe that individuals should be responsible for their own health. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There has been much of a debate revolving around the issue regarding who is responsible for public health. Some assert that it is government's matter of concern, whereas others argue that it can be self addressed. Before giving my opinion, both the views will be discussed. According to the prior view, the primary reason why government should look after their population's health is having access to enough funds. This is to say that, ministry have enough money collected from various sources which they can utilize in healthcare sector. Take India as an example, majority of the population in below poverty line, they do not have spare money to look after their health. As a result, they have shorter life-span. Moreover, government should build better hospital facilities and spread awarness regarding regular check-ups. In other words, people in rural ares should be educated about how to take care of themselves by getting full body check-ups on regular events. Obviously, self-care is equally important owing to the fact that we know our body better than anyone else. More specifically, despite of various efforts of government, if self care is not taken properly, all the efforts are in vain. To sum up, having considered both the views, I believe government should be more responsible for public's health rather than them taking their own care.