The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is common for companies to ask for staff or customers' personal information such as passport ID, driving licence and bank details and save it on their cloud data or on the system. Therefore, the question arises whether our personal information is safe. I believe that, the cons outweigh the pros, hence in this essay we will discuss these and thus, come up with a reasoned conclusion. Firstly, we look at some of the advantages of providing private details. It is convenient to have your information stored in the system for future reference because it is a hassle to carry a hard copy of your passport or date of birth with us all the time. Moreover, there is a risk of losing the hard copy as well, as a result, it is beneficial to have them stored and available whenever it is needed. For example, whenever I go to my internet provider or have work-related problems with the organisation, it is easy to have our information ready when they search by our name on the system. Hence, people find it convenient to have them stored and ready to use. On the other hand, due to the cybercrime growing each day, our detail is at constant risk. Although, companies assure us of the strong firewall and safety they maintain for the details, there is no security that is 100% secure. Each day we hear news of identity theft and people's personal data has been compromised. For instance, many of us get spam emails, and messages on phones from an unknown source advertising it. Hackers get our information from the data pool and spam us with it nonstop. Therefore, the negative aspect of personal detail online can not be ignored. In conclusion, I vehemently believe that the negative side surpasses the positive side.