Some people say that public libraries should be free; otherwise they are just a waste of money, especially because modern technologies and the internet allow easy access to resources. Discuss and give your point of view. Opinion, for and against essay

In this era of modern technology, people are equipped with a plethora of online reading material. Due to this, they are of the view that libraries should be free of cost and money spent to borrow books from a library is a waste. I, on the other hand, disagree with this idea and consider it a threat to the survival of libraries. People who are in favour of making libraries free of cost correctly point out that almost all books are available as e-books on the internet. These documents are even available in numerous languages and are easily accessible to the entire world's population. For example, a book on Electrical Engineering fundamentals, which cost 10 bucks a week to lend from a library, is available in several languages online. Thus people with such a mindset demand libraries to be free of charge. However, it is profoundly important to understand that the small amount charged by libraries for lending books is a source of revenue, which is essential to pay off the library staff and utility bills. For example, the librarians, security guards and janitors who serve in the library get their remuneration from the fee collected by the library. By declaring public libraries complimentary, the management would eventually run out of funds to pay for basics and ultimately, the library might shut down. To recapitulate, it is incontrovertible that the internet is a remarkable source of information, but this does not mean that libraries should be made free for the public. The fee collected from the people is essential for the continuity of library operations. Thus the practice should not stop.