In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose art subjects (example literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (example physics). Why do you think is so? Should this tendency be changed? Do you agree or disagree?

There is a long-standing debate about the tendency where girls select art, while boys prefer science at schools and universities. In my opinion, this tendency has come from obsolete stereotypes and societal expectations and the perspective toward this tendency need to be reconsidered. Firstly, children have been raised under the obsolete stereotype, where girls have been encouraged to pursue art to become feminine, while boys have gotten high expectations from their parents to gain successful future careers in scinece fields, such as doctors and engineers. This perspective has a huge influence on the way youngsters think about their future and they try to meet societal expectations. Moreover, when it comes to enrol in universities, some medical schools in Japan still has perjudice prejudices against gender, where males have more advantage than females. This bias toward males should be prohibited to give equal chances for females. Secondly, there is no evidence that boys are good at science subjects whereas girls are good at art. In fact, some private girls ' schools in Japan are well-known as high educated graduates where one fourth of total students became doctors. Moreover, in modern days, more and more women prefer pursuing their careers rather than getting married and having children. Therefore, the old stereotype should be removed from societies and education systems should be encourage to offer equal opportunities for both genders. To conclude, although there is a tendency where girls choose art and boys select science for a long time, I believe that this stereotype is already out-of-date and individual prefereance preferences should matter, not genders.