‘Children do not respect their parents as much as they did in the past. This behaviour is now having a negative impact on society.’ Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In older times, children used to show immense respect to their teachers and parents. The pupils were not allowed to talk and abide by all decisions made by them. This behaviour shows the high value given by their parents. However, it is debatable that these days, children don't follow this anymore and hence, they don't show respect to their parents. To begin with, I would like to understand what is ' respect ' for anyone. It is talking properly, listening to them all the time or never arguing with them. I would also like to mention that this notion of respect was prevalent with older generations. For example, my mother used to narrate that she always has to listen to her father irrespective of the fact that she believes in it or not. As per her, this is her respect towards her father. However, this perception stands as a distorted perception among this generation. Respect is something that is demanded not only by elders but, by younger ones as well. The new notion of ' Respect ' in today's era is not just abiding by what elders say, instead, you can give your viewpoint and hence agree to disagree. For instance, I am open to giving my opinion about what I feel when I talk to my father. I have an environment where I can give my opinion and hence can take my own decision. This is not considered as any act of disrespect. Yet, this is considered as a negative impact on the community as the people are stuck with the older perception of respect. Considering everything, our community should develop in such a way that everyone gets a chance to put their opinion in a respectful tone irrespective of their age. This will help to build a better nation where children will automatically learn to give respect when they receive respect.