Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is that the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In the past 20years our world has become more digitalised which has changed what children own and how they spend their time. Owning a smartphone has become the new normal for minors as well as access to digital content. This may have an effect on their imagination and behaviour. The increase of smart devices over the past two decades has certainly had an impact on society. Particularly children spend a lot more time on smartdevices rather than being outside playing. Research has shown the negative impact on too much screentime on kid’s imagination, behaviour and even sleep through the emitted wave patterns. For example, it is now recommended that smart devices are switched off two hours before bedtime. However, easy access to digital content has also enabled many children to educate themselves at home. Even children who live in very remote areas are able to join different learning communities. The App store offers a great variety of learning applications that are most of the time free of charge. Children learn on a fun device and are motivated to percevere. For example, my own children have greatly improved their maths skills by doing maths on an app. My daughter was able to solve maths problems that are deemed two grades higher than her current grade in a matter of weeks. This progress astonished us as parents and we did not have to force her to learn with the app. To conclude, children ’s use of smart devices has changed how they spend their time. I think the positive aspects of having access to a greart greater diversity of learning material outweighs the negative of changed behaviour.