Zoos are sometimes seen as necessary but poor alternative to a natural environment. Is it necessary to keep animals in zoos?

The connotation of the surviving environment of animals never fails to sparkle people ’s heated debate surrounding zoos. In the contemporary age, a number of people stubbornly cling to the view that wildlife should be captured by zoological park, but some hold the opposite viewpoint. In my perspective convincing arguments and well-organized evidence would be displayed below for the sake of supporting the central idea that it is necessary to keep animals in zoos. In term of substantive level, the reason mentioned below seems to be advisable and deserve more consideration, zoos have the protection purpose. Specifically, many wild species suffer from the environmental deterioration which might be caused by human behaviors, climate changes and so on. For instance, pandas seem like perfectly epitomize these suffering species. On the one hand, greed makes illegal hunter to prey pandas for their precious fur, which has happened frequently in decades as the related department did not realize the severity. On the other hand, with the urbanization promote forward rapidly, tremendous number of pandas’ habitats have been irreversibly destroyed by environmental pollution, such as toxic fumes, wasted water. Therefore, it is undisputed that pandas should be preserved in zoos. Another factor that should be taken into consideration is that zoos help to establish the world views of next-generation by constructing the connection between human and animals. For most children, zoo must be one of the most popular entertainment facility because children are always curious about the unknown creatures. The curiosity would be fully satisfied when they get close to various animals, and this curiosity would unconsciously thrive their exploring spirit. The world would be infinite in their eyes, if the spirit takes root in their hearts. In addition, some researchers proposed that it is easier to inspire empathy in children when they get along with animals, especially adorable animals such as dogs, dolphins. Zoos act as a bridge which cross the gap between children and animals. In summary, zoos send our offsprings a significant gift which could affect their entire life. People rarely reach an absolute consensus on such controversial issue. The other side of the coin has voiced strong opposition, saying that zoos would kill animals ’ survival skills. In fact, most animals in zoos indeed lose their ability to hunt under the intervening of people. Tigers in zoos provide a strong evidence to support this view. They don’t have to prey and struggle to feed themselves, because the breeders would do everything they can to make these tigers comfortable. However, in exchange, some of tigers might be trained as acrobats on the stage to entertain the tourist sometimes. It really confuses people that whether they are tigers or just giant cats. Although zoos suppress the nature of the animals to some extent, they provide more advantages than disadvantages. Taking into account all these factors, we wholeheartedly safely come to the conclusion that it is necessary to keep animals in zoos. Both governments and ordinary citizens should join hands to maintain more natural elements in zoos which make animals feel like they are in wild via taxpayers’ funding.