In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is suggested that people tend to wear western clothes instead of traditional ones. I believe that there are several reasons that can explain why this the case and this trend can be advantageous and disadvantageous in equal measure. On the one hand, people choose suits and jeans as proper dresses to wear for a variety of reasons. For one, this preference comes from western clothes ’ convenience, as these types of dresses might be suitable for everyone and do not take massive effort to wear. By contrast, most traditional clothes tend to be heavy and difficult to wear. Another point is that most people consider Europeans as stylish and modern people, which in turn leads them to think western clothes as a sign of modern person. As a result of this, with passion for being modernized, people from different countries tend to prefer these clothes over their national ones. I believe it can bring about some benefits. First and foremost, by trying various outfits, people can develop their taste towards dressing. This is mainly because this habit allows people to know which outfit is most appropriate for them and what sorts of dresses they should wear for different events. In spite of its advantages, this trend can be detrimental in some respects. For example, if everyone go for western clothes, they tend to lose their own identity which remains from early generations. When it comes to traditional dresses, they might tempt people who wear them, to never forget about their background and keep in mind their ancestors. In conclusion, people tend to wear unfamiliar clothes for various reasons, yet this trend can bring with its positive effects as well as negative ones equally.