Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now "one big traffic jam" How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people form using their cars?

Boost in vehicle possession in urban areas has been observed for the last 3 decades. This situation has created "one big traffic jam" globally. I agree with this statement to a great extent. Government should encourage people to avoid using personal cars using various ways. The principal reason to support this statement is that a huge number of cars create a deadlock situation on the road. This is to say that, usage of personal vehicle to reach the desired destination is creating a huge traffic jam,especially during the peak hour when office growing crowd is returning back to their home. Not to forget any special occasions or festivals when a similar situation is seen on the roads. Moreover, this can be a hindrance to urgent traffic like emergency vehicles. Take an ambulance for example, patients are not being able to reach the hospital on time due to an ambulance van stuck in traffic. This is getting worse in today's age and time. Undoubtedly, this situation can be controlled if the government takes proactive measures. First of all, they should make public transport more reliable and convenient. This way citizens will prefer not to use their own cars but instead travel through buses or metros. For instance, inauguration of the metro in metropolitan cities like Delhi and Mumbai has contributed to 20% less traffic on the road. To add to this, more applications for carpooling should be introduced. In this way, colleagues can share the ride on their way to the office. To sum up, I agree that myriads of difficulties are being faced due to the usage of personal automobiles in urban areas which can be solved with the help of the government. More and more people should abandon the idea of travelling solo. Government should come up with alluring alternatives to motivate people for this.