Many customs and traditional ways of behaviour are no longer relevant to the modern life and not worth keeping. Do you agree or disagree?

Traditions and standards of behaviour have long been integral parts of society, serving as a defining aspect of different nationalities and tribes. Today, there is a rising concern about the significance of those inheritances in modern society. I believe certain traditions should be preserved, while other customs, causing unnecessary burdens, should be eliminated from modern life. Some traditional and moral standards play a crucial role in preserving the identity of a nation and serving a good purpose. For example, respect for older people exists in many societies and forms a basis for good social relationships. Another simple example is how people perform a handshake when they meet, which shows the level of politeness and respect for another person. Such gestures and behaviour standards should persist in society because they generally benefit humanity. However, certain traditions are not worth spending time or money on and do more harm than good. For example, one of the most burdensome customs in the world is Uzbek weddings, which are generally known for a large number of guests invited and overly expensive restaurants where they are held. Uzbeks work almost their entire lifetime to accumulate enough money to organize such weddings for their sons and daughters. These traditions bear little benefit for people, and the amount of time and dedication wasted on them could be spent on more valuable activities. In a nutshell, every nation has custom social norms and traditions which form its identity. But there are also plenty of practices which only exist for demonstrative purposes of power and wealth, which, I believe, do not have a place in contemporary society.