It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, a gap year has become normal among students before they go to university. I believe that having a gap year have pro and cons side and I will discuss it. To begin with, There are some advantages to having a gap year. Students become more ready for what they will face in the future and understand what they really want including what is the subject, which university, or even which country. Moreover, The preparation of themselves will be better. For example, if they want to get into the medical school they have more time to convince themselves to take one particular subject, and they will search more about what they want to do. I agree that peace of soul is the important thing. Finishing high school is not easy, sometimes, needs 9 or 10 years to finish it, and the students have a chance to just take a moment to enjoy the time and do what they want to do for example, go on vacations. On the other hand, a gap year has disadvantages. Those who do not enter university on the time will feel left behind by others who take it. The person will feel left for some aspect such as in knowledge and carrier. While the other pursuing their carrier, the person still figures out what they want to do. To sum up, I strongly agree the gap year is needed because the students need to know what they are really want to do and interested in because being ready in all aspects is the key to facing the new environment.