Mobile phones and the internet could have many benefits for old people. However, this age group uses technology the least. What are the benefits for old people of using mobile phones and the internet? How can we encourage them to use this new technology?

In the modern world, the latest technological devices such as smart phones are an unavoidable thing especially for youngsters. These are very much helpful for the older generation to minimize laziness and to communicate with others. Here I am explaining how it helps them to expose new technology. To commence with, the internet on the mobile phone is giving facility for the elder people to having medical appointments easily. Applications are helpful to get consultations and can help them to book appointments directly over the internet without bothering someone. It overcomes the hassle of creating direct appointments. For example, my grandfather can seek doctor availability without my help. Furthermore, this helps the doctor to view all appointments together as a report instead of being created by an assistant. In addition, when a person becomes elder, he retires from his job and might remain at home while his family members go to work; which creates loneliness. For instance, the modern internet enabled gadgets have many applications which allows to chat with a person on the other side, over the connected network. This helps them to create a direct way to interact with his friends, at no extra cost unlike a telephone call. For example, my father used to have video calls with my kids more frequently than paying a direct visit. In conclusion, a mobile phone can be a greater level of virtual assistance to elderly people. It can assist to get nursing assistance and to remain occupied with certain entertainments and news. The above mentioned scenarios encourage them to use new technology and to speed up with it.