car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. how to do you think this statement is? what measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars.

The possession of cars is increasing continually in the majority of cities in the world. As people have as many cars, ‘one big traffic jam’ is a big problem in major cities. As far as my opinion is strongly concerned, I totally agree with this statement. However, I believe that the mentality problem of human is bigger than an environmental issue. From my perception, there are three main problems. Firstly, people own cars for showing off self beyond transportation. Like as much as you own many cars, you are greater or richer than other people. For instance, people living in Seoul have many cars. On average two families of three own three cars. Secondly, it can cause a desire for consumption, as we see as many cars on the road and street. Through that public can feel that they are such a loser or failures without having a car. Because maybe they think, surrounding people are buying a car and that is like the symbol of social status. That is why I also have got to buy it. Lastly, by social media people are jealous of owning a lot of automobiles and under the pressure of an inferiority complex. According to a survey, especially younger people are planning, to buy a car immediately after getting a first job. In my opinion, the government should control the problems directly. The government can use some financial strategies such as raising the tax rate of ownership. If someone owned many automobiles, the government should raise his tax rate. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I totally agree with the opinion because I believe, modern society needs to change positively for individuals and association.