Some people think reading stories in books is better than watching TV or playing games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although some people believe that reading books is vital for children, others claim watching TV or playing games are also acceptable for children’s development. In my opinion, I agree that reading books is a key approach in nurturing children than being in front of a screen of a TV or laptop and wasting time. On the one hand, nowadays, the world has become absolutely digital which means a lot of information can be consumed by using a wide range of devices such as mobile phones, laptops, tablets, and TV, and less – by paper-based resources like magazines, newspapers, books, or periodicals. That is why the young generation has to break the wheel of this trend spending more time not in front the TV or video games but exploring new things from the books. As a result, it allows them to be more literate and gain more general knowledge. On the other hand, being slumped in front of the TV or playing games are detrimental for children’s health in terms of vision and mental condition. Hours are spent by them in front of the screen make their eyes dry and, furthermore, destroy the eyes’ protection layer. In addition, it might lead to addiction when young people are becoming more sensitive to the gadget, so they make a preference virtual reality instead of reality. For children’s development it may have severe consequences in their future lives. In conclusion, I totally agree that children should pay more attention to reading books rather than watching TV or playing video games due to the educational purpose of reading and cruel effects of gadgets