Write about the following topic : For many , shopping malls are great places to spend their leisure time and meet others . People , however, in the past mostly visited shopping malls when necessary . To what extent do you think this is a negative trend?

Shopping malls, these days, are considered as major recreational spots by many while most people used to visit them for necessity in the past. This new trend has many negative impacts on people and society as a whole. Hence, this essay will argue why it is completely unnecessary for people to spend their free time in the marketplace and how this is a negative trend. To begin with, modern shopping complexes offer many amenities and shoppers tend to enjoy roaming around different markets and purchase whatever they like. For instance, many pupils prefer to meet up in a shopping mall, watch a movie and later have snacks in the food court. They say this reduces the stress of the exams and makes them relaxed. Besides, with the decline of open places and parks, many families gather at a large shopping mall to enjoy their holidays. However, this is a negative trend and has health hazards. As a consequence, the young generation tends to forget the beauty of nature and the stress relief provided by the outdoor world. This, in fact, drains out the energy of the youth and makes them lethargic. For example, a walk in a park or a day on a beach refreshes the soul more evidently than a day in a mall. Besides, due to the excessive affection towards shopping, many people become shopaholics and get into debt. To conclude, citizens should not spend their free time in shopping malls as there are better alternatives. It is hoped that people will go to a shopping mall to do essential shopping but spend their free time outdoors to enjoy the beauty of nature and take part in open-air activities.