Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate whether students should be absolutely free in selecting subjects in university or they should spend time only by studying potentially useful things that are more related to STEM disciplines. Although some freedom in educational program may lead to higher engagement, it is important to comply with standards and regulations related to higher education. On the one hand, when students follow their interests it is more likely that they will be more motivated and involved into learning. It will be hard to end up in a situation whe where a person spends countless hours listeting lectures that may feel irrelevant to the imagined future. Just by deciding what is interesting and important, a student can build a more accurate picture about personal future. For example, during exchange programs between Ukraine and the United Stated of America students reported that the ability to define subjects was one of the best thing for efficient studying. However, in my opinion, it is hard for most young people to evaluate importance of each subject, and it may graduate without any marketable knowledge. On the other hand, it is important to follow standards and regulations that were developed to produce specialists who are relevant to modern industries. All those rules and recommendations are based on the tons of analysis from previous decades and predictions for following years. Currently, common sense suggests that learning science and technology is a save and reliable path to get a job with a good salary. A good illustration for that is difference in salaries for STEM graduates and others. In my opinion, it is a good approach to education and more creative learning can be done in a free time. To conclude, while there are valid arguments for having more freedom in choosing subjects, it is more effective to focus only on those subjects that are proven to be valuable for societies and revarding regarding for graduates.