Many psychologists recommend that the best way to relieve stress is to do nothing at all for a period of time during the day. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people today can hear from psychologists that the most effective remedy against stress is doing nothing for some time during the day. I absolutely agree with such recommendation because continuing work can lead to multiple mistakes and because an overloaded to-do list is often the cause of feeling bad. Firstly, when a person is under stress there is a high probability to make mistakes or cause damage. It becomes harder to keep attention at the required level, and some important steps or details can get missed. Except for producing low-quality work, in some professions, it may be dangerous to others. For example, a surgeon tired of long-term stress can forget his tools inside a patient’s body. Postponing an operation would be a much wiser decision than relying on luck. Secondly, stress is often caused by unrealistic expectations at work, and clearing a daily to-do list can relieve psychological pressure and lead to good rest. Instead of doing actual work, most of the energy is going to worrying on breaking plans and promises. For example, it is common among software developers to give time estimates for project completion without discovering all underlying pitfalls, and the most frequent scenario, in this case, is overtime for a few weeks and burning out. Fortunately, deadlines can be renegotiated. To conclude, clearing a part of the day from all tasks is a great idea for fighting stress because it can help to reassess the amount of the planned work and avoid problematic mistakes. Being well-rested leads to higher productivity than working long hours.