People today often use the internet to learn about the culture of other countries. This means that it is not that important to travel to those countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the internet makes it possible to learn about other cultures from home. In some sense, this suggests that traveling to those countries are not very important anymore. However, I completely disagree with such an idea because it is hard to interact with new places and societies remotely, and because online browsing can be seen more as a part of an upcoming travel. Firstly, it is still near to impossible to interact with physical surrounding and most of locals while a person is staring at screen. Maybe, the further advancement of virtual reality and humanoid robots will make it more realistic, but, for now, there are no ways for touching items on video streaming services. For example, some vloggers ask subscribers to lead them through a video, but, despite of such control a viewer cannot feel smells or wind in the same way as people in that location. Secondly, online browsing can build expectations about an another country, but it will not give experience from the first person view. Usually, consuming more information develops higher appethite for new discoveries in person. It helps to build a plan of budgeting and places to visit. For example, it is almost a rule for experienced travellers to read tripadvisor.com and watch the most popular reviews on youtube.com before going to a location. To conclude, the internet cannot replace physical presence for learning other countries because the level of possible interactions is completely different and aquiring information about a new culture on websites stimulates an actual journey. Technologies are not developed that much to outplace the regular tourism.