Some people think that reading stories in books is better than watching TV or playing games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often thought that children would gain more benefits when they are exposed to reading materials, such as story books compared to watching TV programs or playing games. In my opinion, I completely agree that by reading stories in books, children will clearly gain a number of benefits which will significantly help them in a number of aspects. Firstly, when children are encouraged to read, especially at a very young age, it will help them to be interested in reading. It cannot be denied that reading is absolutely vital for every child especially when they are in primary and secondary schools since they will go through a lot of reading comprehension. Although reading is taught at school as one of the important skills, they are not interested in it outside of school because, for most of them, it is a boring activity. When they are encouraged to read books, this will become their habit, and as time passes by, they will be able to speed up their reading ability. In other words, they can be a fast reader and this will definitely help them when they are exposed to longer reading passages especially when they have to look for information online and get the main idea of the articles that they need when they are at higher levels. Secondly, by reading, students will be more creative and imaginative. When students read books, especially non-fiction books, they will come across many different characters and events which can bring them into another world. This is something that they will not experience in their daily lives. Although they can watch non-fiction movies on TV, it will not give them the opportunity to be imaginative and creative to create their own picture of the characters and events that they read about. In fact, some children sometimes feel disappointed after watching a non-fiction movie on TV as they feel that the way they imagine the story that they read is better that the movie they watch. creativity is something that is needed in every child's life because it will build their personality and the way they perceive things. To sum up, I once again reaffirm my position that reading is a habit that can benefit children greatly compared to watching TV or playing games. Although we are living in a modern world with amazing technologies, every parent should ensure that their children have a book to read during their free time to cultivate this practice from a young age.