Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Relieved from the overloaded burden of homework in senior high school, many students go into college only to find that they have plunged into the sea of knowledge without anybody telling them where to swim. Some people are filled with misgivings about university students ' free choices: how could they possibly tell, at such a young age, which subject is more useful than others and choose it as their focus of study in the next four years which are probably the most valuable time in their entire life? In my view, however, such considerations seem rather superfluous, for choosing a subject by students themselves is beneficial both to the students and the whole society as well. Firstly, as the saying aptly expresses. "Interest is the best teacher", which means only when we have passion for something can we do it Better. A good teacher must love teaching and keep the student's interest in mind and a physician must love saving life before he can be humane and sympathetic towards his patients, while a pianist should be crazy about playing and then become a top-notch artist. Contrarily, a person not fascinated by what he is doing is much less likely to get anywhere in his career. Secondly, the boundary between "useful" and "useless" subjects is not as clear-cut as some people might have expected. Undoubtedly, science and technology are of paramount importance to the development of our world, but it does not follow that other less practical subjects like philosophy and literature are useless. While the increased knowledge about our body, for example, may help us live longer, a better understanding of history, culture and ourselves provided by liberal arts may show us what kind of life is more valuable and therefore more worth living. To conclude, rather than restricting the students to certain "useful" subjects, parents and universities should encourage them to study whatever they like. By doing so, the students will be able to learn those things, be they useful or not, that really interest them, and this is helpful to the future career of the students, and to the contribution they can make to the world.