While many people go to university for academic study, more people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, education is an important aspect of our society as it defines people ’s function and status in it. Therefore, it is true that many people prefer to pursue high-level education provided by universities rather than getting involved in vocational training courses. While nobody can deny the need for undergraduate and postgraduate professionals, I totally agree that people should also be encouraged to qualify as electricians and plumbers. This essay will discuss important reasons to be trained in skilled professions like the ones mentioned above. Firstly, vocational training provides learners with essential skills to enhance their employability possibilities, for instance, plumbing or electrical work is mostly performed by people with plenty of experience. The complexity of their jobs is implemented in the construction and maintenance of new or existing buildings. Secondly, it has been proven that this kind of education also supports personal development and promotes active participation from any country’s inhabitants, especially developing countries, resulting in more job alternatives or occupational fields. Therefore, the government should not hesitate to work with employers to ensure that extra vocational training opportunities are provided permanently. Furthermore, vocational education and training play a role in ensuring lower rates of school dropout, facilitating the school-to-work transition. Schools could incorporate relevant subjects into pupils’ curriculum, thus, not all the emphasis is placed on preparing for university studies. Moreover, not all students are academically inclined, so the suggestion of another type of education might be a perfect answer for them. For example, school-based and work-based learning in schools provide opportunities to learn manual skills or hands-on ones important in the culinary field. Lastly, parents should also help their children to choose vocational careers at an early age, so employment prospects will be clear when the opportunity approach. To sum up, it is vital that people are encouraged to get involved in vocational training education as it provides important skills for future employability because skilled workers are needed in certain fields.