The continued rise in the world's population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

The world’ population has been growing lately and this has been seen as the greatest problem faced by society. Our planet has provided enough resources for human’s survival, enabling the rise of population so far, however, some people don´t know how to properly use these resources. This essay will explain why selfishness is the greatest problem faced by humanity in my opinion. It is possible to say that everything people need to survive, at certain point, comes from the environment, and this has been allowing the development of modern society. The world’s landscape has changed a lot, especially after the Industrial Revolution, when many forests were destroyed and replaced by industries and plantations to supply people ’s demand for food and goods. The more the population grows, the more the environment is damaged. By comparing the percentage of green areas in Europe between 100 years ago and today, the result would certainly indicate that almost no green areas have left today. In other words, the consumption of resources has been allowing the population growth, however, this upward trend has been damaging the environment too. Even though the continued rise of world’s population could be considered the humanity’s greatest problem, it is not. The greatest problem is all the terrible impact that population’s growth brings to the environment, caused by people selfishness. Usually, big companies are not worried if building an industry in the middle of a jungle, for example, will lead to deforestation, destroy the habitat of different species, or even pollute rivers with waste. They are only concerned about producing more with less money, so even knowing that the industrial activity will most likely damage the environment, big companies will continue to do so because it is profitable for them. Because people don´t think about future consequences and prefer to destroy the environment in order to thrive economically, I believe that selfishness is the greatest problem in society today. To sum up, if people are not willing to see the big picture of what humanity’s greatest problem is, they would say that it is the continued rise of world’s population. This essay explained why and at what cost the population has been growing lately, leading to the conclusion that humanity’s greatest problem is the selfish behavior against the environment conservation and not the population growth itself.