Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some historians might consider that learning history is essential for young kids, whereas some scientists believe scientific and technological education is far more important than the former one. In the following essay, I would discuss the opinions from both sides and explain why I sided with the latter notion because of the possible advancement of society. On the one hand, knowing historical events helps the offsprings form ethical perspectives toward societies and make them appreciate what they have. For example, if students learn about the consequences of massacres or starting up wars, they would probably not support such a political policy as they grow into adults. Similarly, citizens might also learn about the price of freedom from many historical moments, like the Boston Tea Party or 228 Memorial Day, and know that liberty is something worth fighting for. On the other hand, acquiring scientific knowledge can contribute to the improvement of technologies. For instance, if pupils receive scientific education from an early age, they might be able to hold curiosity towards physics or maths and take relevant occupations like engineers or accountants in future. Undoubtedly, technologies have provided people in the world with convenience and comfortable lifestyles. To fuel the advancement of society, it is crucial to have abundant technological workers. From a personal perspective, although studying history indeed helps civilians behave more ethically, history classes are not as important as science ones for the reason that cultivating engineering workers is more urgent. More specifically, TSMC, which is the most profitable company in Taiwan, is expanding and frequently complains about a lack of experts in producing chips. By contrast, there are very limited historical researchers required in job markets. In conclusion, while learning historical facts can be valuable in adjusting the behaviours of children, backfilling positions in technological industries are considerably more significant in the growth of a national economy. Thus, I agree that science-related subjects should occupy more time schedule than historical ones and even make them compulsory earlier.