Is fast food to blame for obesity in society or is gaining too much weight the responsibility of the individual? What factors contribute to obesity? Why do you think that children are becoming obese?

The increasing rate of obesity nowadays is worrying the whole society and even the country. Some people believe that the cause of being overweight is fast food while some think that gaining too much weight is an individual’s responsibility. I agree with the latter as fast food is only a meal option and it’s not the only thing that will cause obesity in an individual. In this essay, I’ll discuss my views on factors that contribute to obesity and why children are becoming obese. Lack of exercise is one of the important contributors to obesity. Both working adults and students nowadays are very busy with their work and studies. Therefore, the heavy workload might cause them don’t have enough time and energy for doing workouts a few times a week. Laziness is also one of the main culprits that cause people not to spend time doing workouts. For instance, most of them will prefer to play video games or watch shows when they're free. Furthermore, the costs of a gym membership and sports equipment are also not affordable to everyone. Fast food was being blamed by some people for causing the overweight problem. In my view, it’s not accurate that fast food is the main cause but the expensive prices of organic food. Organic and nutritious meal options are usually more pricey so they won’t be the preferred alternative for everybody. For example, a customised salad at a salad bar usually costs 2 times more than a hamburger set in a fast food restaurant. Due to the expensive cost of healthy food, more people will choose to have their meals at fast food restaurants and it’ll definitely cause a surge in the obesity rate. Children ’s overweight rate is a very concerning situation as it is considered a serious medical condition. One of the reasons that cause could be parents don’t have enough time on preparing meals for their children. Hence, children usually don’t get to eat nutritious and balanced meals. School is also responsible for providing children with healthy and nutritious meals during mealtime and encouraging them to eat healthier by teaching them the disadvantages that obesity will bring to them. If youngster knows how to make the right decision on choosing meals, it will no longer be a problem for society.