In many countries women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first month after the birth of their baby. Does advantage outweigh disadvantages?

In most countries, it has become common for women to take maternity leave from their workplace after delivering their babies. This essay will demonstrate how this could help children in their physical and emotional development but will also show that this can cause some issues for companies. Whilst acknowledging that maternity leave has disadvantages, the essay will argue that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Firstly, when a woman is on maternity leave, taking care of the child, not only the company has to pay them during the leave but also look for a substitute that can work in their place of them. This costs the company a fortune as it takes time to train new employees before they start working. Hence, there are a few disadvantages of maternity leave. Despite the above-mentioned disadvantages, the advantages, on the other hand are way more. In the very early stage of life, the infant requires full care and attention from their mother, which helps in physical and emotional development. Moreover, according to a study a mother's breast milk is considered best for a toddler during the first few months. This not only keeps the baby healthy but the bond between mother and child becomes stronger. While keeping in mind the baby's health, maternity leave is also beneficial for mothers as it gives them an opportunity to rest and take care of themselves. To recapitulate, although companies might face some issues because of maternity leave, the pros outweigh the cons.