Discipline is an ever-increasing problem in modern schools. Some people think that discipline should be the responsibility of teachers, while others think that this is the role of parents. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Discipline is constantly growing in schools these days. The question is who should be responsible for it, either teachers or parents. I would say both play certain roles in the issue, but I would lean toward the latter. It is undeniable that discipline is applied in the classroom with the aim of enhancing the quality of the teaching-learning process. There must be specific rules and punishments, causing students to manage their behaviors themselves. Without rules, classes will start and end in chaos, which affects both teachers ’ and learners’ performances. This could be the explanation for why many strict teachers are usually preferred by parents. A recent survey shows that there is an average of 75% of mothers and fathers wish their children to enroll in disciplined classes in the hope of receiving better results. However, this attitude leads to all blame on teachers while the parent’s role should be taken into consideration as well because mothers and fathers are indeed the very first educators. On the other hand, parentship appears to have a crucial impact on children’s development. At the moment they were born, they started learning everything from scratch with the instinctive awareness of following their original so-called “ teachers ”. As a result, this would be the replicable chance to expose minors to an environment of discipline, leading to well-behaving establishments. This is why the author of Teaching English To Young Learners assumes that educating one-to-three-year-old children seems to be the most frustrating since it has functioned as a solid foundation. I believe this school of thought is preferable because not only do parents influence their children’s growing process but they are also the ones who minors spend an enormous amount of time with. In conclusion, although teachers should take responsibility for guiding students to follow disciplines to increase class quality, parents ’ roles must not be underestimated. There appears to be no one else except mothers and fathers who establish fundamental bricks to construct the entire building of a child’s natural development and that is why blaming parents for discipline is a more preferable option.