Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when travelling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

These days information technology allows people to work outside their offices. Although there are some disadvantages of working remotely such as distractions, isolation and disbalance between work and life, there are also certain merits. One evident benefit to working outside the office is freedom. Indeed, individuals can plan their day as they like, attend medical appointments or meetings, and spend more time with their families. This kind of flexible day schedule gives more job satisfaction and builds trust between an employer and an employee. Moreover, remote working saves time and money for many employees. For instance, my friend started to work at home two months ago. Had she decided to work remotely earlier, she would have saved 20 dollars on food and about 2 hours of travelling time on each of those days. However, there are some drawbacks to such mobility. The main disadvantage of working outside one’s workplace is a high chance of being distracted. In fact, a person can lose his or her concentration and motivation because of noisy neighbours, shouting kids and loud traffic outside. More importantly, any remote work can cause isolation and then depression. For example, during Covid-19, many companies had to send their workers to work at home, so thousands of people were cut off from their social life. Individuals who stayed at home alone and could not focus on their work became more frustrated, absent-minded and slow, which had a negative influence on the employers’ companies. In conclusion, although it is undeniable that working outside one’s workplace can be disadvantageous, it is mostly beneficial as this gives freedom and flexibility in life.