Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects at university in many countries. Why is this? What effects does this have on society?

In this contemporary epoch, it has been noticed that not adequate pupils choose science as their subject in colleges in numerous nations. In this, essay I will discuss some of the causes behind this trend and examine the possible consequences of the same on society. There is a myriad causes for students not preferring science as their subject in college. The primary reason for this is high fees. It is undeniably true that science as a subject entails laboratory-based study. Furthermore, it contains practical and on-site assignments. Now, all this comes at an astronomical fee. However, such high fee structure is not seen in other subjects. Hence, students refrain from taking this as a subject. In addition to this perceived value of the subject is also one of the important reasons for this. What I mean by this is that science as a subject, for ages, has been told to us as a hard skill to master upon. This has demotivated students to choose this subject as they fear not clearing it. For example, when I cleared my board exam, I did not clear it with good grades. Hence, my parents forced me to take commerce as they were told science is going to be hard for me with such low grades. The effects of this have been and will continue to be very serious. The most obvious impact of this is the lack of scientific inventions. It is an irrefutable fact that if students would not study science, they won’t be able to know the length and breadth of the latest scientific inventions happening around them. This will decelerate the country’s success in the area of science and innovation. Another possible effect of this is an increase in unemployment. To be more precise if students start choosing other subjects instead of science, faculty teaching science would be of no use. Hence, they would be asked to give up on their employment. For example, in 2019, Xavier’s College in India gave the pink slips to all the science professors as they were not seeing any admissions in that subject. To conclude, high fees and hearing science as a hard subject for years clearly stand out as the primary reasons for pupils not opting for science as a subject in universities. The effects of it which happen to be negligible scientific inventions and unemployment need to be carefully considered and watchfully monitored for its ill effects to be kept under check.