Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Over the past few decades, the standard of living of people has improved considerably. Also, it is now seen that they invest in luxury items more than ever before. Some people believe that car ownership has tremendously increased, thereby giving rise to problems of traffic jams. I partially agree with them, and this essay will elucidate my assertions in the upcoming paragraphs. Certainly, a surge in vehicle ownership is one of the reasons for traffic blockages in the cities. Moreover, another reason is the lack of availability and affordability of public transportation. For instance, there are cases where public means of transportation are unavailable or too costly to use. So, people prefer to take their own cars while travelling to these places. Further, in some countries, the roads are not wider enough to accommodate the traffic and ensure the smooth passing of vehicles. For example, in Mumbai city, because of the recent metro constructions, the roads have become narrower. Thus, availability, as well as affordability, and the condition of roadways are a couple of other reasons for the increase in traffic jams over recent years. In my view, definitely, the government can play a vital role in reducing these blockages. If they promote the use of the public mode of transportation by making it cheaper and affordable, they will surely be able to discourage people from using their vehicles. Additionally, the authorities must conduct campaigns and awareness seminars on the problems faced by the population due to the increased number of cars on the roads. To cite an example, Mumbai is the world’s most polluted city. This is because its residents prefer to travel by owned cars rather than public modes of transportation due to improper provision of facilities. Thus, the masses should be aware, and better quality of transportation should be provided in order to discourage the usage of cars. To conclude, along with the increase in car ownership, there are other reasons as well for traffic jams. It is the need of the hour for the government to take appropriate actions so that we know about the problems and ourselves feel encouraged to work toward resolving this concern.