Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to change our character traits. To what extent do you agree?

It is suggested that we tend to inherit our personalities from our parents and we do not have a chance to alter them. I do not support this view. Admittedly, some traits come to us through our genes. For example, if baby has anxious personality from a young age, it is definitely connected with child’s genes, as he or she can not develop such a characteristic at this age. Thus, it is proven by several scientists that genetic factors affect the formation of our behavior and particular characteristics can be arisen with the help of our genetic makeup. On the other hand, I believe that people have an opportunity to change their character traits. For instance, when I was a child, I suffered from public fear and a sense of anxiety, then I tried some methods to modify these traits such as, attending more and more parties and communicating with a lot of people. After all, these actions helped me to became extrovert person, which means that our characteristic is changeable and they are not fixed before we are born. Another proof against this theory is that some personalities can be created with the help of certain level of exposure to the surroundings. When children, for example, are surrounded by naughty friends, they tend to be afflicted by this case, leading to the creation of unrespectful and rude attitude towards other people. Hence, people around individual can play great role to mould one’s personality. In conclusion, it is worth admitting that there are a link between genes and having different personalities, yet I believe that character traits are not irrevocable, as personal experiences and some actions can change them completely.