It is become increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Pursuing bachelor degree is popular, but taking a year off become a new trend among graduate high school students. This trend keeps increasing recently. This essay will explain the benefits and drawbacks of taking a break from academic life after graduation. Some students take a gap year due to some pros that attract their future. Firstly, students will be well equipped by working experience before returning to school. It is because taking a job will connect them to a real workplace, therefore it shaped their mentality for preparing their career in the foreseeable future. Secondly, based on my observation the students who take a year off before continuing school are more mindful than those who do not. Since a year off exposes students to get involved in several volunteering or events, and meet many people, as a result, they will find the interest and passion that they want to master. Although a year off has several benefits, it also has some drawbacks that must be considered. First, beginning careers a bit later than their peers. It is inevitable that having a gap year needs to be considered about the consequence of this. For illustration, when most of their peers already finished school and start careers, they still ongoing study. Due to this reason, many students avoid gap years. In addition, going back to academic life after a break might be hard for some, since there will be an adjustment with the routine, habit, and overload task. In conclusion, taking a year off after high school trend keeps flourishing among students. However, it has benefits in terms of reenergizing, but it also provides several disadvantages that need to be considered.