One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion what do you think the causes are? what solution can you suggest ?

It is certainly true that traffic congestion is one of the most outstanding problems that cities throughout the world face. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons why this is happening and put forward several solutions to this issue. One of many reasons is that metropolises tend to be overpopulated and as a result, a big number of citizens own their personal cars, which leads to traffic jams especially, in city centres. For example, it is reported that in New York one in two people have a personal vehicle. Moreover, the poor quality of public transport such as old buses and terrible services doesn't seem to encourage individuals to use them, as a consequence, many of them prefer to purchase their proper automobile and use it in everyday tasks like commuting and travelling. To address this, there are a number of potential approaches, first of all, governments should improve public transport and there are a variety of ways to do this, for example, installing new bus lanes and rails all over the city, also trying to build subways. Furthermore, Government should introduce new laws to limit the number of automobiles in a metropolis, for instance, by forbidding the use of vehicles in certain areas at a certain time, and this method appeared to be successful in some Asian countries, a good example is Tokyo, where it is illegal to drive your car in city centres after 5 P.M. To conclude, there are various reasons causing traffic congestion all over the world and steps need to be taken to tackle this problem.