Only 20% of Tech Jobs are Held by Women. What problems do women face that prevent them from getting these jobs and what must be done to change this situation.

Only 20% of tech jobs are held by women is a problem becoming more widespread in many parts of the world. There are several problems caused by this trend, and various solutions could be taken to improve the situation. There are a variety of different problems with this phenomenon. To begin with, we can see that the biggest barrier is cultural, 71% of women report having worked in a tech company with a strong “bro culture ” (TrustRadius). Considering culture fit is one of the criteria for hiring people, this kind of environment is a barrier itself for technologist women ’s employability. Another significant problem to mention is that the overtime culture, unmanageable workloads, and unrealistic deadlines can be part of a common part of a tech professional’s day-to-day, leading to high levels of burnout. For example, the pace of change in the tech industry means that mothers taking maternity leave, taking a career break for even a few months may return to work to find their expertise outdated. Despite these circumstances, there are several solutions that companies and individuals could take to solve the problems. Firstly, a simple solution would be to companies balance the number of women in the team and give them opportunities to ascend job roles, the culture fixes itself. When young girls start to see a growing number of women in tech, they’ll believe they belong to the tech field too and will start opting more for studying STEM subjects. The second measure would be for individuals to need to overcome barriers and difficulty in work to adapt to the culture in the companies. Finally, the industry can begin to close the pay gap, improve its retention of female talent, and create a more equal community where every woman is empowered to thrive in her career. In conclusion, the problem of only 20% of tech jobs being held by women is unlikely to be entirely eliminated in the short term. However, various actions can be taken to tackle the issue to reduce the effects / impact it is having on the current society.