A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old fashioned values such as honor, kindness and trust no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

People constantly argue over what factors contribute to a person’s worth. Some said people tend to give more importance to social ranking and wealth factors these days when deciding personal value without considering engrained personal traits such as honour, kindness, and trust. I partially agree with this statement because we can see people tend to prioritize superficial things in our social life, but other valuable qualities are still widely recognized in our workplace and by true friends and families. People easily believe what they can see before their eyes and sometimes measure personal achievement by how much money does he have. This is the prime reason why people tend to impress another person’s wealth and fame without realizing what it takes to achieve those. We can clearly see a trend of people posting and bragging about their material wealth on social media to lure their circle of friends’ attention. And,human beings want to make close connections with those with benefits in the expectation of getting something out of the relationship, for example, financial gain, and business relationships. On the other hand, I believe materialistic things can be destroyed and taken away through unfortunate events and what really matters in life is personal traits such as honesty, honour, kindness, sincerity, and trust. A true friend or companion should be one made up of those mentioned traits rather than money and they will stick with you in your darkest times. Similarly, in the career world, employers are seeking honest, trustworthy, and hardworking individuals rather than ones who are loaded with wealth. To conclude, we can’t deny the fact that people tend to judge others based on social rank and material wealth when they first meet but over time permanent traits are something valued and well recognized.