In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In some parts of Europe, the education system has been designed to provide either practical or academic skills to children. Moreover, it is important for children from the age of 11 or 13 to be educated by schools on how to navigate through the working world. This essay will discuss what steps schools can take in order to prepare students. Firstly, the schools should organize career guidance workshops with professionals from the industry. Students spend most of their time dwelling in textbooks, which doesn't allow them to gain knowledge of the current context of the world. Such as technology improvements, acquisitions and mergers etc. For instance, students who attended schools providing such workshops and meeting professionals, are able to make the correct career choices and face challenges. Thus, it is important for children to gain experience in the world context through workshops and schools should take continuous steps in organizing such events. Secondly, schools should initiate plans for field trips to corporates. Most countries in Europe have many multinational companies, such as Apple, Microsoft and Twitter etc. Taking children on field trips to such companies allows them to see the practical world and meet the working people in the industry in the action. For example, a study shows schools which organize field trips have helped students in determining what they want to choose for their future. Hence, it is essential for schools to introduce such initiatives to support career development. In conclusion, schools organizing extra-curricular programmes such as workshops and field trips prepare students for the world of work.