In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business as people drive to the bigger city stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to shops outside the city, which may lead to increased use of cars. Do you think the advantages of this change outweigh the disadvantages?

At present, due to the growing urbanisation in most countries, people tend to work and live in metropolitans, and it causes shopping malls or independent stores located in a less populated areas to close, and the commercial market is gradually dominated by large companies. As far as I am concerned, that is more beneficial to society. It is trendy that consumers prefer purchasing versatile items in a bigger city nowadays because they can get whatever they want all at once in multiple stores in the central business district within walking distance. In Taiwan, millions of citizens living in New Taipei City, but most of them work and spend their leisure time shopping or finding entertainment in Taipei City, the Capital of Taiwan. What's more, the entrepreneurs build premium stores with abundant products and gorgeous interior decorations to attract clients, and that reduces the cost to set amount of local shops in every town. On the other hand, people in the remote areas have to drive a long distance to the central business district to satisfy their basic needs for living, and that is harmful to the environment, because driving a private car would lead to more emissions of greenhouse gas, like carbon dioxide. However, there is no need for the suppliers to transport merely a few goods to a remote area to satisfy the demand from small towns, and that could reduce the pollution of delivery as well. All in all, despite the pollution from consumers driving their private cars to city might increase, the pollution from companies would decrease, thanks to less distance to deliver products and cost reduction from opening only premium stores. Therefore, although there are pros and cons to the phenomenon that more stores are open in the well-developed area, I consider there are more good than bad.