Overconsumption of sugar is unhealthy. Some people think that governments should take the responsibility to control sugar intake while others think it is the responsibility of individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.opinion about it.

Consuming large amounts of sugary foods could result in health problems in the future. However, some believe that individuals should be responsible for controlling their sugar consumption, while others believe its the government's role. In my view, it is the government who should regulate the amount of sweet products on the market. When people take the notion that each and every person is supposed to make sure that they watch the amount of sugar they consume, they are usually refering to people who are health consious. If someone understands the negative effects of taking in a lot of sugars, they they are likely to reduce or stop eating them. On the other hand, even if they want to, they find it difficult because there are no other alternatives. For instance, there has been a growing concern that most South African school tuckshops sell sweets, chocolates and cakes instead of fruits which put the children at risk of non communicable diseases in the lon run. In order that sugar intake is reduced, the government should be make sure that it controls the amount of sugar that is put in foods such as fizzy drinks, juices, alcohol, bread and cakes. These are the the foods mostly consumed by a large number of people on a daily basis. This can be done by introducing sugar-tax. For example, introducing this worked significantly in the UK, such that the South African government also introduced it. As a result, the companies reduced amount of sugar they added to their products and as well increased their prices. Hence, the consumers couldn't afford to buy them in large quantities. Besides these stiff laws, the authorities can also regulate the types of foods that should be sold in schools as well as making sure that sweet items which are normally placed in tills be placed at the back shelves of the supermarkets. This prevents impulse buying associated with the purchase of these goods. Moreso, advertisements of such products can be stopped by the government and be replaced by healthier foods which include vegetables and fruits. In conclusion, high intake of sugary foods results in an unhealthy nation. Even if individuals try to reduce eating them, its remains a governmental responsibility to reduces these products by regulating production and advertisements.