Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate about whether university students should study whatever they interests or should they only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future. In my opinion, comparing to limit university students to learn their majors to meet their future development, allowing them to study the subjects they are interested in is more condusive to a more balanced social development. To begin with, university students choose the subjects they are interested in is more likely to gain a good grades, they will devote themselves wholeheartedly to their study because there is a saying that interest is the best teacher. By contrast, students will be tired to learn courses they dislike. For example, compelling a student who is keen on literature to study computer science is inappropriate because he/she can not achieve a great accomplishment in the computer industy by their literary passion. Moreover, there are countless connections between different disciplines. The concentration of students studying in specific fields may bring a negative impact on the development of science. For instance, the development of computer science is based on various basic disciplines such as mathematics and physics, therefore, the progress of those basic disciplines may be slowed down by a lack of passionate students, which can even affect the progress of computer science. On the other hand, university students only study useful subjects is conducive to their employment in the future. They may be more likely to find a job in some hot fields such as Artificial intelligence or Big data analysis because of the huge demand for talent from enterprises. In conclusion, while university students only study useful subjects can improve their employment rate in the future, they learn what they are keen on and are more likely to achieve better grades. Additionally, imbalanced student distribution in different subjects may adverse to the development of science. However, those targeted students can meet the talent needs of enterprises.