In spite of major traffic jams and pollution problems, large numbers of people continue to travel by private car to travel in the city. Why do people continue to drive in the city? How can people be encouraged to leave their car at home?

It has been observed that regardless of the rising concerns about pollution and major traffic congestion, commuters to the city continue to drive their private cars. Environmentalists are flagging on serious effects of carbon emissions caused by increasing numbers of private vehicles and yet this problem is not largely addressed by national leaders. In my opinion, such problem remains relevant across the globe whether it is in developed or developing countries. Driving own car indeed provides convenience to the traveller from the point of departure to the destinated location on various advantages such as personal time management, safety, and privacy. To expand the idea of those benefits, modern lifestyles demand people to undertake various daily activities asides from day jobs in the city centre. For example, a working parent would need to pick up her child at the day-care centre immediately after her work shift, a person with limited mobility would prefer their own vehicle that is equipped to his need, or an official who often needs to converse work affairs in privately either with mobile or with a partner. Those people would not prefer to use public transport as it would require more travelling time, have limited route options, or have lesser accessibility for a disabled person. In addition, owning a vehicle provides as a means to carry more personal belongings wherever he or she would plan to go. One may plan to have a quick workout class at a nearby gym during lunchtime or run errands before returning to work. Having to carry gym bag or grocery bags on top of work satchels will be a hassle in public transport. To encourage commuters to use alternative methods of travelling instead of their own vehicles, the government could implement nationwide advocacy to raise awareness of the negative impacts of carbon emissions, and fuel depletion. While doing so, governments can increase their spending on making various modes of public transport more convenient and flexible. For example, more routes can be expanded and add more vehicles to existing routes during peak hours, and more sheltered walk areas from bus stops could be built. In metropolitan cities like Singapore, Hong Kong and Seoul, we can observe that commutes from stations and bus stops to major office towers or departmental stores, or residential areas are sheltered and are often equipped with storage lockers. On the other hand, punitive measures such as increasing levies on private vehicle taxes, and parking fares could be implemented at the same time to discourage the majority of the commuters to bring their car to city centres. In conclusion, the public would still prefer to bring their own vehicles to the city if their common needs are not met and until the government adopts public policies to facilitate the commuters and places enforcements, it would be an ongoing issue to be actively solved. There is no one solution that fits all for all nations and any acting government will have to adopt what serves best for its own nation.