Some people think the primary purpose of schools is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Schools have long played a significant role in bringing children for the future, not only by providing academic background but also by teaching moral and ethical standards. Nowadays, there is a growing concern that schools are only concerned with preparing students to serve their country rather than encouraging individual growth. However, I would argue that schools play a crucial role in developing pupils into unique individuals and allowing them to reveal their passion. One apparent distinction between schools and colleges and universities is a broader scope of taught subjects. Schools purposely expose their pupils to a variety of areas, such as biology, engineering, sports and chemistry, to encourage pupils to reveal their true passion. They provide a testing ground where students develop a unique worldview and unfold their future goals. Thus, schools give an opportunity to select a custom path for a person rather than dictating to them their future direction. However, some people believe that since public schools are under the charge of governments, they can be imposed specific policies, educational standards and rules from high authorities. For example, a government may force schools to propagate a sense of patriotism to bind children into their countries. Nevertheless, such alternations do not disturb the teaching of the main subjects. Even when specific additional courses are imposed, children will still have an opportunity to study their primary subjects and engage in fields they are most interested. In a nutshell, many people think that schools only prepare students to become professionals and citizens who serve their country, but I believe that schools also provide an opportunity for each individual to develop their own worldview and determine their ultimate goals.