Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and should stop. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is a common belief that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger, However is a more persuasive argument that economic growth is damaging the environment and should stop. There is, admittedly, economic growth that helps citizens have jobs. From that point, workers have a deserved salary to take care of themselves and family. Profitable companies pay a large amount of tax to the government. From that place, the government can use that money to build schools, and streets, eliminate illiteracy and eradication poverty. For example, Vietnam was a poor country at the war against Japanese fascists, and millions of people are dying of hunger. Nowadays, the economy is well developed, Vietnam is growing and growing, and no more people die of craving. Nevertheless, economic development can cause environmental pollution. Fast economic advances led to rapid urbanization and many factories were born that caused pollution of the environment and noise. We can’t stop economic expansion but the government must control urbanization speed and factories. Companies must use green energy for their factories. To sum up, it is apparent that an economic hike is necessary because it can help to eliminate desire and reduce poverty. It is undeniable that it can damage the environment but we can’t stop or ban this development.