Today more and more tourist are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antartic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

One of the most contentious issues in recent times has been tourist travel to places where conditions are extreme, like the Sahara desert and the Arctic. However, the real question is, How does traveling to these places benefit a person? What are the cons of this trip? To begin, the main benefit of traveling to these places is that it provides a memorable experience. Not everyone is allowed to travel to this site. For example, a person with a disability may find it hard to explore the Sahara desert or enjoy the weather in the Arctic. Traveling to these places requires physical ability and a stable state of mind to be able to survive whatever circumstances may arise during the trip. Furthermore, visiting places improves self-awareness. It gives tourists a clear picture of how human actions damage our environment. For instance, some visitors start a campaign or a movement to help solve the problem regarding the excessive melting of ice in the Arctic Ocean. Perhaps this is what everyone needs to see to be able to start caring about the environment. On the contrary, despite the advantages, visiting these places can create more problems. For example, if more tourists visit the Sahara Desert or the Arctic, that means more trash is made. Aside from that, a crowd could disturb the habitat of animals living there. Although some tourists do their best to avoid them, certain accidents happen without pure intentions. To sum up, visiting areas with extreme conditions has pros and cons. The main benefit is it gives a person a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity that may increase self-awareness. In contrast, it may also damage more sites because of littering and disturbance of animals habitats.